top of page

Copywriting and A Bit of Humor

Last week in class, we were lucky enough to hear from Ronnie Lee, an amazingly humorous Creative Director and Copywriter. I've never really been that strong of a writer - so it was definitely interesting to hear from Ronnie about his creative thinking process. When I think about advertisements, I think "Wow...That was really clever. I wish I thought of that." Probably every advertisement that has ever caught my eye, I'd wish I'd thought of it. Even in class, I feel like I've always shouted out ideas but had never really been the person to actually come up with a clever catch phrase or team name.

We learned various techniques that could help in writing copy for our ads and M4G projects. These "creative springboards" helped us to think about different advertisements and copy for Sriracha. For example, using a metaphor, rhteorical question, or even a monologue can get different points across to your audience. When thinking about our own projects, the tone of The Rise Project is pretty serious, educational, but also bold and playful. Considering this, we had a hard time finding the right voice to demonstrate what we really wanted to say.

By brainstorming and presenting in class, I learned the importance of team work and ideas. No matter how dumb you think your idea may be, it's not. I learned to step outside my comfort zone and say anything that came to mind - on track or not. Although I'm probably not meant to be a Copywriter, it was a great insight to learn more about the business and the process of creative thinking.


bottom of page