top of page

Pitching 101

I've never been strong at pitching, let alone presenting in front of an audience. Hearing from Bryan O'Connell was a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity. It's amazing to see someone who had gone on Shark Tank successfully right in front of our eyes. If I learned anything from Bryan's talk, it was to fall in love with your work and exude that through your pitch. Your project should be something that you're passionate about. Something that will make you want to work everyday. I think that entrepreneurs are amazing because they create a product from a simple idea, and execute it all the way until they receive funding and are able to successfully launch.

One of my biggest fears is getting up to the front and having a mind blank. I think we all experience it at one point in our lives. From practicing our pitches to hearing from Bryan, I learned that research and practice are key. As we go into our Marketing For Good projects, we'll have plenty of pitches in front of judges, classmates, clubs on campus, investors, and potential partners. It's so important for all of us to know each others parts, do research of the audience and be confident. When Bryan walked into the room, I could tell that he was confident and comfortable in the front of the room. Although he may not have had the answers to everything, he stayed calm and collected throughout everything, including his Shark Tank pitch.

Pitching is supposed to be precise, quick, and informative. It should capture the attention of your audience by making the information relatable but also rooted in fact. Through this talk, we learned to first - identify the problem, second - propose the solution, and third - tell your story. After practicing in class and with my group, I've gotten more confident in my skills as a presenter and as a member of a team.


bottom of page