top of page

Break the Travel Quo

Who said travel can't be easy? Amtrak is "breaking the travel quo" with their clever, witty new campaign. I can honestly say that I've had my fair share of travel disasters. Missing my train in London to go to Paris, peeing on the side of the road (multiple times), getting stuck in between a crying baby and a bigger person spilling into my seat, and even getting stopped at the gate because of too many carry on bags. Well Amtrak hit the spot on all of my travel worries and how they are making a change in the way you travel.

The campaign objective is simply to change the way people travel. Why wait in line or stop for gas when you can ride an Amtrak train with everything you could ever need? The re-vamped trains have sightseeing windows, a full-service dining car, even a cafe. Maybe one of the best perks is that you can get up to four bags free...yes I said FOUR.

I love this campaign because it really captures the real pains of travelers. They have a bunch of fun blurbs that encourage people to ride a train instead of a conventional plane, car, or bus. This targets those who travel frequently or maybe even those who travel occasionally but experience discomfort and disappointment in the current modes of travel today. Someone like me who hates waiting in lines and who always overpacks.

This campaign is so relevant and funny, especially in a very travel-obsessed society. The website and the campaign videos demonstrate the benefits of taking an Amtrak train in an obvious, yet clever way. While it seems like an obvious approach, I think that Amtrak did a very good job at owning its category. When I think of going to Seattle for a weekend, I would normally fly. But this ad will challenge people to weigh the pros and cons of flying a budget airlines or riding in style on Amtrak. With free wifi, clean bathrooms, and no middle seats, how can you pass it up?

Which will you choose...

Take a look at all the campaign ads here


bottom of page