top of page

Headspace Meditation


In high school, I often dreaded P.E. classes that we did yoga in. I hated stretching my inflexible body for an entire hour doing downward dog. My favorite thing about the class, the end. Generally following yoga classes, we would lie down in our backs and close our eyes...in which case I would 98% fall asleep.

When we were tasked to do meditation for a whole ten days for class, I was worried about my physical capability to do so. I often get distracted, lazy, and tired. To be completely honest, I didn't even think that meditation helped in any way so what difference would the headspace app make?

However, with all of the stress of finals, group projects, finding an internship, summer housing, and basically everything else going on in my life...I thought that it was a much needed relaxation from my hectic schedule.

My first impressions of the headspace app was that it was very inviting and easy to use. The visuals were cute, and the audio featured a British man talking which always gives any apps extra points.

Day 1: Clear distractions in the background. I felt nervous to actually meditate for the first time in a while. My mind drifted off, but the voice of the narrator was a bit calming and soothing.

...

Day 5: I had trouble going to sleep this night and so I turned on my headspace app to see if meditating would help me feel more relaxed. Although I was tired, I was clearly still awake. I felt my body feel more relaxed and heavy throughout the ten minutes in bed. I found myself worrying too much about my school projects, but was able to forget it completely as the meditation went on.

...

Day 10: Like the other days, I found it hard at first to concentrate on nothing but the sounds and my body in the beginning. BUT, after a couple of minutes I found my mind more able to let go of the thoughts in my mind.

After the meditation period, I definitely felt a change in my body. When meditating, I felt more relaxed, and I was able to zone more sounds out. From day 1 of the meditation, I felt that I was able to pick myself up the next day feeling more and more refreshed than before. I will admit that I missed some consecutive days - and that's only human.

Some future goals I have for myself going onward:

1) Meditate more often (a couple times of weeks, especially if I'm feeling extremely stressed)

2) Work my way up to a regular meditation routine

3) Exude more positivity, and think less about all the deadlines I have to meet

4) ENJOY LIFE MORE


bottom of page